Login Form

Screenwriter Nancy Meyers Joins Final Draft Hall Of Fame

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(Los Angeles, CA; December 11, 2013) --- Final Draft, Inc., the industry standard for screenwriting software, announced today that legendary screenwriter/director/producer Nancy Meyers is this year’s recipient of the company’s Hall of Fame Award. Meyers will be honored at the Final Draft 9th Annual Awards Event, to be held on January 7, 2014, at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Studios lot.

Writer/director/producer Meyers has been at the top of the Hollywood creative community since producing and sharing an Oscar®-nomination for co-writing "Private Benjamin" in 1980. Since then, her writing credits include the hits "Baby Boom," "Father of the Bride," "The Parent Trap," "Something’s Gotta Give," and "It’s Complicated" (the latter three she also directed). Meyers joins previous Hall of Fame honorees Aaron Sorkin, Steve Zaillian, Oliver Stone, and Lawrence Kasdan, among others.

“It is our privilege to put a spotlight on the contributions Nancy Meyers has made to the screenwriting industry,” says Marc Madnick, CEO of Final Draft, Inc. He adds, “Her screenplays consistently deliver both drama and laughter with an unmistakable voice that has set the standard for romantic comedies over the past two decades. Her impressive list of credits is not only an inspiration to all writers, but also an important reminder that women are a driving force in Hollywood.”

Meyers will receive the accolade on stage during the Final Draft Annual Awards event, where the company celebrates aspiring writers (the Big Break Screenwriting Contest winners), the most influential talent in the industry (the Hall of Fame Award), and the 2013 screenwriters at the top of their craft (the Screenwriters Choice Awards).

The Screenwriters Choice Awards celebrates its second year and provides an open forum for Final Draft® customers to vote on the best-written feature films and television shows of 2013. Nominees are chosen by a committee of working writers who submit their picks for 2013’s Best Original Screenplay, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Television Comedy, and Best Television Drama. The top-five nominations from each category are then submitted to Final Draft customers to select the winners, who will be honored on stage on January 7. This year’s awards nominating committee include leading writers Ted Griffin, Simon Kinberg, Larry Karaszewski, John Francis Daley, Jonathan Goldstein, Stan Chervin, Brian Duffield, Dustin Lance Black, Amy Berg, Aaron Ginsburg, Kirsten Smith, and David Wain.

Hosting this year’s Final Draft Annual Awards is actor/director/comedian Jay Chandrasekhar, who directed, co-wrote and starred in the Broken Lizard films Super Troopers, Beerfest, Club Dread, and Puddle Cruiser.  Additionally, he directed the Warner Bros.’ feature film adaption of The Dukes of Hazzard. Chandrasekhar stars in and directs the upcoming The Babymakers; which also stars Olivia Munn, Paul Schneider, Kevin Heffernan, and Nat Faxon.



About Final Draft, Inc.

Final Draft, Inc. has published Final Draft software – the number-one selling screenwriting application in the world – for over 20 years. Final Draft software automatically paginates and formats scripts to industry standards allowing writers to focus on what they do best – scripting stories. Used by industry giants, like J.J. Abrams, James Cameron, Aaron Sorkin, and more, Final Draft has become the professional’s choice and the entertainment industry standard. In addition to its flagship software product, Final Draft, Inc. offers other services for writers, like the Big Break Contest – a screenwriting contest that launches careers and awards over $80,000 in cash and prizes and professional script coverage with its ScriptXpert services. In 2012, Final Draft, Inc. launched Final Draft Mobile™, a division focused on bringing screenwriting tools to mobile devices. The Final Draft Reader® and Final Draft Writer® apps for iPad are the first in a series of mobile apps to be brought to market. To learn more about Final Draft, Inc. and its products and services, visit: www.finaldraft.com.



Haute Tease

  • Celebrity Interview: PRIDE Director Matthew Warchus Talks on Honoring the Real Life Events Behind the Feel Good Film of the Season

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    "Pride" from CBS Films, BBC and Pathe, brings to the screen a triumphant feel good film highlighting the 1980's British Miner's Strike and the Gay lifeline that rescued them from the squeeze the government had planned.


    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    HOLLYWOOD, CA (February1, 2013) – “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” first of its kind application, based on J.J. Abrams’ upcoming Paramount Pictures film, is now available to download for free from the App Store and Google Play. Users who have the app will have unprecedented access to all STAR TREK content, as well as the opportunity to participate in missions and win valuable prizes. First Surprise Unlocked During The Second Quarter Of The Big Game February 3rd

  • Columbia Rape Accuser Continues Protest Project

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    Columbia University rape accuser Emma Sulkowicz, determined to have her accused rapist suspended from the Ivy league University maintained her vigil of protest, and carried a mattress the symbol of the weight and burden rape victims carry daily to the 2015 Class Day Ceremonies.

  • Murder Suspect James DiMaggio Killed in FBI Shootout

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    James Lee DiMaggio, the man suspected of kidnapping Hannah Anderson and murdering her mother and brother has been killed in a shootout with law enforcement officers in the Cascade Mountains of Idaho.

  • Filmbuff To Release SXSW Hit A Wonderful Cloud

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    Digital entertainment curator FilmBuff announced today that it licensed US rights to distribute A Wonderful Cloud, a feature-length improv comedy written, directed, and starring Eugene Kotlyarenko, with Kate Lyn Sheil (House of Cards, Queen of Earth).  

  • Tech News: 22 Big Tech Brands Ranked from First to Worst

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    When you hear the name of a popular tech brand, you’ll naturally have a gut reaction. Perhaps you love Sony’s game consoles, but can’t stand its headphones. Or maybe you buy Samsung exclusively, whether it’s a smartphone, tablet or refrigerator.  

  • David Oyelowo Will Serve As 2017 Spirit Awards Honorary Chair; Sterling K. Brown and Issa Rae To Co-Host Nominee Brunch, Announce Grant Winners

    AddThis Social Bookmark Button

    Film Independent President Josh Welsh announced that David Oyelowo (Queen of Katwe, A United Kingdom) will be the 2017 Spirit Awards Honorary Chair. Oyelowo was nominated for Best Male Lead for his work in Selma (2015) and Best Supporting Male for Middle of Nowhere (2013).